Acupuncture Week 11: She’s Here. Aunt Flow, that is.

Well ladies, this morning my temp dropped, after 14 days of high temps. I almost cried because I was so sure that I had gotten it right this month. Buuut…Literally two hours after leaving PinLady’s office, I started my period.  She said by my pulse she couldn’t figure out if I was pregnant or getting ready to have a period, but something was about to happen. And she was right.

I’m super excited. Seriously, I am, as crampy and as bitchy as I’ve been, I’m glad. I burst out crying this morning in front of my neighbor. I screamed at my husband, again, and cried at every commercial I saw about people loving each other or having good parents, or whatever. And now it all makes sense. I was so sure that I wasn’t having my period again, because I had no PMS symptoms. No cramping, really no bloating, and no ridiculously sore boobs. Does this mean this is the way it will be moving forward? I can do that. And, TMI, (but who cares) it was BRIGHT red. This is amazing because for as long as I remember, it has been brown, clumpy and scant. It is a little strange that I’m glad that I’m bleeding out of my woo-ha, but hey. This cycle was actually perfect. It was exactly a 14 day luteal phase. The day my temp dropped my period came. Perfect.

I’m smiling. And I’m going to hold off on Metformin just a little bit longer, and see if we can get this sucker going again next month without meds.

And now in my type A gloriousness, I have devised another problem. Now that I have started a period, I’m going to resume using my Clear Blue Easy Fertility Monitor. If anyone knows about these things, you know that you have to set the time that you’ll put the pee stick in the beginning of the month, and then you have to put the pee stick in at the same time every day plus or minus 3 hours from that time, or you miss your window. Fine. I usually set it for 7AM at home, so if I’m up as early as 4AM or as late as 10AM I’m good. Problem is, I’m going to Europe in a few weeks. They’re five hours ahead. So when do I set this freaking thing for? If you save your pee, you can still use it any time of the day. But with ovulation, if you wait too late, you can miss your window. How am I allowing one good thing to happen, and then obsess about another?

Either way I’m sure it’ll be fine. I’m jazzed that I’m bleeding! Woo Hoo!

PROGRESS: First period in 3 months, naturally, with NO meds! No PMS pain, and it’s healthy red blood. (Gross, I know…)

LESSONS LEARNED: Patience, patience, patience. All progress is good.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Acupuncture Week 11: She’s Here. Aunt Flow, that is.

  1. Jeanette says:

    I am doing acupuncture as well, and my Pin dude said that what you are experiencing is a normal period. Meaning that your “stagnation” is improving.

    Is it normal for the pin people to be able to tell if youre pregnant? Ive never heard of that before!

    I never thought Id say this to anyone but Yay for shark week!

    • Haha! Yes, hooray for Shark Week! If this is a normal period, I haven’t had one for many years. I’ve heard that acupuncturists can tell about pregnancy, although I think it’s more of a “something is going on” type thing. She could tell something was about to happen. Here’s to hoping things keep moving this way!

  2. Roxxroxx says:

    Woohoo…. All of us in the TTC game understand …. No info is too much info when you’re reading about someone else sharing your situation. Xx

Leave a comment