An Endocrinologist Who doesn’t draw your blood on site: sounds promising.

Betheny Frankel was on Ellen, talking about her miscarriage. And on Access Hollywood Live. She seems to be everywhere. I feel good in some way. She said she felt like she had to talk about it because people were asking so many questions about why she wasn’t having a second child. I was saddened but comforted at the same time. Why don’t people just shut the hell up sometimes? I appreciate her honesty. It makes me wish people were more open and honest about infertility as well.

Being Type-A, I called before my endocrinologist appointment to see what to expect. She said nothing. Just show up. No blood drawn, nothing. When I get there, she’s very matter of fact that I have PCOS. The high presence of one male hormone (in my case testosterone), and one symptom (in my case irregular periods), you have PCOS. No matter about polycystic ovaries. She said “Looking at your chart, I see you’re taking Chinese herbs. I’m not going to comment on that.” I asked her to expand. She says that she is trained that it doesn’t work. She says PCOS doesn’t just go away. She says that Metformin will help to regulate insulin and help to regulate my periods. She says that the side-effects are mild. But I remember reading that it affects liver and kidney function, and that it can block B-12 absorption. I have a problem with B-12.

She says to give some blood and see her in 2 weeks and we’ll evaluate Metformin. PS, the blood is taken after not eating for 8 hours, and is like 7 vials. I am nervous. I hate giving blood.

Metformin. Anyone out there have experience with it? Side effects? I was trying to go natural. Should I change directions? Is it worth it?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “An Endocrinologist Who doesn’t draw your blood on site: sounds promising.

  1. thefamilyvan says:

    I started Metformin a week ago. The doctor put me on a very slow path to lead up to the desired dosage. It won’t be for at least another week that I’ll be taking the full dose (3 pills a day). I guess it can really jack your stomach if you don’t ease into it. I haven’t noticed any side effects yet.

    I haven’t done the fasting bloods yet, but the doctor still prescribed the Metformin. Not sure about that… I couldn’t get my shit together enough to prepare for it adequately.

    Good luck! Looking forward to hearing how it turns out.

    -V.

    • Make sure you update via blog how you’re doing with it! I’ve heard so much about the side effects, if you know what I mean. Part of me would be excited that weight loss is one of them, if it weren’t for all the pooping and nausea that was the cause…

Leave a comment